Published in


Classification Systems in the Gaming Industry

By Unblocked Hub

August 3, 2022

PEGI and ESRB: Classification Systems in the Gaming Industry


In the gaming industry, classification systems such as PEGI (Pan European Game Information) and ESRB (Entertainment Software Rating Board) play crucial roles in assessing and categorizing games worldwide. These organizations aim to provide guidance to parents, teachers, and consumers, helping them evaluate potential risks associated with game content and choose age-appropriate games for children.


### PEGI (Pan European Game Information)


#### History and Objectives of PEGI:


Established in 2003 in Europe, PEGI serves as an organization dedicated to evaluating and classifying game content. Its primary goal is to protect children and youth by identifying games with inappropriate content. When assessing a game's content, PEGI considers elements such as:


1. **Violence**

2. **Sexuality**

3. **Fear**

4. **Inappropriate Language**

5. **In-Game Gambling**

6. **In-Game Purchases**


PEGI assigns an age classification and uses a set of symbols to indicate relevant content for each game. For example, suitable for ages 3 and above, 7 and above, 12 and above, and so forth.


#### PEGI Classification Symbols:


1. **3+:** Suitable for ages 3 and above

2. **7+:** Suitable for ages 7 and above

3. **12+:** Suitable for ages 12 and above

4. **16+:** Suitable for ages 16 and above

5. **18+:** Suitable for ages 18 and above

6. **PEGI Online:** Contains online interactive elements


### ESRB (Entertainment Software Rating Board)


#### History and Objectives of ESRB:


ESRB, established in 1994 in the United States, is an organization providing game classification and rating systems. It was created to regulate the gaming industry and inform parents about game content. ESRB's classification process considers elements such as:


1. **Sexuality**

2. **Violence**

3. **Profanity**

4. **In-Game Alcohol and Tobacco Use**

5. **In-Game Gambling**

6. **Fear**


#### ESRB Rating Categories:


1. **EC (Early Childhood):** Suitable for young children.

2. **E (Everyone):** Suitable for everyone.

3. **E10+ (Everyone 10 and older):** Suitable for ages 10 and above.

4. **T (Teen):** Suitable for ages 13 and above.

5. **M (Mature):** Suitable for ages 17 and above.

6. **AO (Adults Only):** Intended for adults only.


### Conclusion:


Classification systems like PEGI and ESRB provide transparency in the gaming industry, guiding consumers to make informed choices about safe gaming. These classifications assist parents in selecting appropriate games for their children and impose responsibility on game developers to design content responsibly. Gaming classification systems effectively contribute to making the entertainment world safer and more accessible.